Are we really okay with the way we look in the mirror?

Coming to terms with the mirror – Part 1

Getting ready for summer is a great time to come out of our beginning-of-new-year hibernation that usually starts 8-10 days after we start working on our resolutions.

At the break of the first ray of light as we come out of the fog and start shedding our jackets we take one real look in the mirror and confront with our unfiltered versions.

While it feels good to say, “I have come to terms with my ‘lewks’..” how many of us really feel that?

I still fall in the bucket of the latter where it feels right to come to terms with my body but it just doesn’t feel right yet! Everyday feels like a constant battle between me and that image in the mirror who triggers me every morning.

So how can we handle this conversation with ourselves better?

How can we battle the darkness within when all we are constantly exposed to is a social media with glamor and filters to remind us of our warts and blemishes?

Is running away from social media the only option?

I am still pondering on this one.…

(to be continued…)

For more on mirror work read my article Mirror Mirror on the Wall

Kay’s Corner

2 responses to “Are we really okay with the way we look in the mirror?”

  1. Tell me more. I sometimes wonder who is this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep! That is a conversation I keep having!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment